ESHIᴹᵀ Mission Statement

ESHIMT is a non-profit organization dedicated to promoting and coordinating the scientific, intellectual and professional activities of individuals working in the following areas: hybrid imaging incorporating two or more imaging modalities, imaging of tissue function, and imaging at cellular and molecular levels.

The mission of the society is to develop clinically relevant imaging probes and technologies and translate them from bench to bedside to help improve patient care. This will be achieved through training, education and research.

ESHIMT is open to anybody working in these areas of imaging including: physicians, scientists, physicists, technologists, radiographers, and others. ESHIMT will foster specific educational and training programmes to evolve and disseminate knowledge about these new areas of imaging in the medical community across Europe and the world.

ESHIMT will support world-leading science and research through scientific conferences and workshops, as well as fostering and supporting international, cross-specialty research projects. ESHIMT will promote hybrid imaging and the validation and implementation of new functional and molecular imaging biomarkers, as well as developing recommendations for their use in clinical and research settings, together with ESR and other national and international bodies. The ultimate goal of the society is to improve hybrid imaging modalities and to foster their translation into routine clinical practice for the benefit of our patients.

Executive Committee


Clemens Cyran (Munich, Germany)

Term: 2024-2026


José Vercher Conejero (Barcelona, Spain)

Term: 2024-2026


Thomas Beyer (Vienna, Austria)

Term: 2024-2026


Danijela Dejanovic (Copenhagen, Denmark)

Term: 2024-2026

Member at large

Ferdia Gallagher (Cambridge, United Kingdom)

Term: 2024-2026

Member at large

Ora Israel (Jerusalem, Israel)

Term: 2024-2026

Chair of the Research Committee

Lena Unterrainer (Munich, Germany) 

Term: 2024-2026

Chair of the Education Committee

Johannes Rübenthaler (Munich, Germany)

Term: 2024-2026

ESHIMT Educational Committee

Chair: Johannes Rübenthaler (Munich, Germany)

Matthias Froelich
Pietro A. Bonaffini


ESHIMT Research Committee

Chair: Lena Unterrainer (Munich, Germany)

Bertrand Tavitian
Ferdia Gallagher
Esther Troost
James O’Connor
Ivo Rausch
Onofrio Catalano


Society controllers (2024-2026)

Christoph Mayer, Vienna/Austria
Markus Pfingstner Vienna/Austria


The ESHIMT Statutes are available for download/viewing as a PDF-document.